Experibread! proofing and white versus wheat

Using this recipe, which is basically standard sourdough loaf, I tired to see what difference there is in catalysing and proofing times as well as changing percentage of whole and white flour.

I am not going to lie I am a lazy bread baker. I always wondered what difference catalysing (when you add the flour, stater and water) and proofing made. Well I now know the answer (as well as having many loaves).

1

The best was 12 hours of catalysing and 12 hours of proofing, it has deeper last but was not oversour as the 20 hour. Lesson: recipes instructions are there for a reason. shorter proofing also resulted in less bubbly though which is to be expected.

I love my wheat flour and tend to do most of my loaf with it. i am always slightly jealous though of loaves with the huge air bubbles. My loaves tend to be denser i have noticed and I read that the flour tends to make a difference. Although i still used some wheat flour i reduced to about 1/4 of this recipe for standard work horse loaf.

IMG_8194

12 hours proofing and an hour in oven more in the oven and Tadaahh!

2

It does seem to be definitely lighter than using just whole flour. Hmmmm I wonder using 00 flour would do… Next week’s experiment!

Although my loaf are slightly bubbly they tend to be more dense. I like using whole flour as I feel it has a bit more oomph.

One thought on “Experibread! proofing and white versus wheat

Leave a Reply

