Weekday light rye sourdough

Managed to get my hands on some rye flour. Some interesting things I found out after making this loaf (it’s alway after I look these things up…..) from serious eat and the fresh loaf. For example rye basically rises much faster than wheat and is a bit more gluey.

Anyways another recipe from Breadbar none called weekday light rye. I did 2 loaves, one I followed the recipe ingredient and another I tweaked. In the tweaked version I added oats and had more starter.

Ingredient for original version:

  • 400g strong white flour
  • 100g rye flour
  • 325g water
  • 30g white sourdough starter
  • 10g salt
  • A good couple sprigs of thyme

Ingredient for my version:

  • 350g strong white flour
  • 50g oats
  • 100g rye flour
  • 350g water
  • 70g white sourdough starter
  • 10g salt
  • A good couple sprigs of thyme

Recipe:

  1. Mix flour+rye+water+starter+ Oats+salt+thyme and let it rest for 15 min.
  2. Stretch and fold the dough every 15 min X5.
  3. Shape, let it proof for 20 hours in an oiled bowl in the fridge.
  4. Pre heat the oven to 230ºC with a dutch oven inside and take the dough out of the fridge.
  5. Flour and score the loaves.
  6. Bake with the lid on for 25 min.
  7. Remove the lid and bake for another 20 min.
  8. Cool on a wire rack for at least an hour.

1.png

My version came out much denser which is really not surprising. I quite liked my version it tasted more… wheat and substantive. Although I think most people enjoyed the  original version which has less the oats and starter.

5

The original version is definitely bubblier.

Rye was interesting to bake with as well, it feels much finer and gluer than just normal bread flour. Might try this seeded multigrain rye sourdough recipe from the wonderful Wild yeast.

Leave a Reply

